More French Cuirassiers for a Friend

As promised, the rest of the unit. Despite a massive hangover from the usual binge drink with my fellow wargamers of the Red Barons, I managed to complete them before the weekend. The commissioner was rather happy with them – and so am I. First a picture of the final six cuirassiers.

Much of these six was painted while still inebriated.

Much of these six was painted while still inebriated.

As you can see, I photographed them with a dark background – I found the white background on the previous pictures generated a lot of glare, which wasn’t at all to my liking. Of course, with the equipment I’m using I’ll never attain anywhere above passable quality, but I wanted to try this out. I’m not entirely happy with this either, though.

The entire unit, moments before handing them over to their rightful owner. Heart-breaking!

The entire unit, moments before handing them over to their rightful owner. Heart-breaking!

In the previous contribution, I already touched upon the subject of commission painting and mentioned two problems I had with it. Today I encountered the third, which is: letting go of your work. By Thor and Odin, but these were hard to let go of! Especially because I collect French for myself. Still, at the end of the day, this unit was my first experience with painting the French cuirassiers from Perry Miniatures, and as I picked up a box for myself today I’m sure my own citoyens will look equally splendid if not more so!

Up next: a pack of “Hired Help” by Perry Miniatures – a group of line/light infantry who are completely knackered after hauling artillery. This will be a vignette piece and I’ll be doing the basing too, so these eight miniatures will probably take up most of next week. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

