Dark Angels Darkshroud

Somewhat later than promised, for which I duly apologise. This model took me quite a bit longer to finish than I would have liked, which is mainly to do with the qualities of the model itself.

Completely worth the price tag (cue current drink spilling through nose)

Completely worth the price tag (cue current drink spilling through nose)

There is an old adage in wargaming circles that goes “everybody collects a Space Marine army at some point in time” and I succumbed to that maxim with the release of the Dark Vengeance boxed set last summer. Nevertheless it took quite some time and effort to talk myself into spending more money on expanding the Dark Angels force from the box. But lo and behold, my local game store is doing a spring clearance sale at twenty percent off the regular price, which allowed me to purchase this model at ‘hideous’ cost instead of the usual ‘ridiculous’ cost.

Not being a fan of the vanilla Dark Angels chapter, I'm painting my force as Angels of Absolution.

Not being a fan of the vanilla Dark Angels chapter, I’m painting my force as Angels of Absolution.

Speaking of hideous and ridiculous: Yep. The sole reason I bought this model is for the fairly novel game concept of having a portable cover save generator at a reasonable points cost. Sadly, the model itself looks like a nine-year-old tried to cross a regular Land Speeder with the 1990’s Batmobile in Autocad. Nevertheless, I took the liberty of hacking off the front engines to lessen the stupidity of the model by a few percent – and my Ork Meks will thank me for it, too.

Honk if your wallet is empty.

Honk if your wallet is empty.

The model was painted fairly quickly as I didn’t want to spend too much time on it. It’s a rather uninspired paintjob; the entire model was washed seraphim sepia over a white undercoat and then the metallic parts and such were filled back in with simple runefang steel or dwarf bronze basecoats washed with nuln oil and agrax earthshade respectively. Despite being so straightforward and simple, the paintjob was not exactly enjoyable. All to do with the model. At the end of the day though, I’m glad I only have to paint one of these abominations. Huzzah.

As for the next contribution: I’m currently working on a display model of N. Bonaparte as a birthday gift for my girlfriend’s father – he’s a great fan of the man. I’ve also nearly completed two Rogue Trader era Space Orks. Lastly, I’ve taken pictures of a 16th century nobleman I painted up for my girlfriend (she studies 16th century art history). I’ll do an update or two over the next few days, and then… who knows? I’m experiencing a minor burnout regarding Napoleonics, so I might do something entirely different. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

