Ork Blitza Bomma

Unexpected update! I was re-reading my previous contribution and thought: damn, Laurens, you should be ashamed of that Darkshroud. And rightfully so! It’s nowhere near the quality of the previous work I’ve shown here. So I decided to try and quickly erase that horrible episode from your minds with another vehicle I painted last summer: the Ork Blitza-Bomma.

 Whereas I was quite critical about the Darkshroud model and its pricing, this model deserves nothing but praise. The kit is great to put together with a lot of extra options left over afterwards (the kit builds three different types of jet after all), and at a rather low price point it’s simply great as a one-off project. What’s more, it made me decide to collect Orks after much previous hesitating. When a model can provide such inspiration, you know GW can sometimes do it right – less so with the Darkshroud, obviously. I will personally castrate the first person that decides to collect Dark Angels because of the Darkshroud model.

I believe I did catch myself producing jet engine sounds while handling this model.

I believe I did catch myself producing jet engine sounds while handling this model.

The model was built as a Blitza-Bomma, which is the weaker of the three options rules-wise. I’m not exactly the kind of player that collects models because they are super powerful in a certain ruleset, so I don’t mind. Moreover, the inherent awesomeness of this Blitza-Bomma is that you have to roll 2d6 on a table anytime you drop one of its bombs, which might mean the Ork pilot forgets to pull up and crashes into the target. Who wouldn’t want that to happen?

These great pictures were kindly taken by Bo, the manager of GW Gent.

These great pictures were kindly taken by Bo, the manager of GW Gent.

By now you will have noticed that I’m a good customer of GW when it comes to their washes. My Orks are the most extreme example of this painting habit. Apart from the metallics and weathering (and the red on the bombs, on this one), I use nothing but washes over a white undercoat. The yellow, for example, is a coat of casandora yellow followed by a coat of seraphim sepia. Yellow used to be a headache-inducing colour to paint, but with this technique it’s very easy, very bright and it doesn’t require a billion coats. Same with the skin: a single coat of athonian camoshade. It’s not very dark, but who cares?

And so I’m off again. Napoleon’s finished and will grace the blog sooner rather than later (I’ll try and photograph him this evening). As for my current work: I’m building a unit of Sarmatian Cataphracts as we speak. It is my vain and completely unrealistic ambition to collect a Dacian/Sarmatian army piece by piece and not making additional purchases until the existing collection is fully painted. You’ll see how that goes!

Leave a comment