Rogue Trader Orks

Yesterday marked the end of the first month of this blog’s existence, which in itself is cause for some celebration. What’s more, it was also its most popular day yet, with over a 130 page views and close to 60 unique visitors. Thank you very much for your continued interest! So I decided I’d reward you with another blog post.

Probably the oldest sculpts I've painted so far.

Probably the oldest sculpts I’ve painted so far.

I can scarcely describe how glad I am to have been able to paint these models. I was happy to acquire them as part of a payment for my recent commission work on those Napoleonics. Although it’s just these two at the moment, I’ll look into collecting more of these venerable figurines to be able to field a modest unit of them. The sculpts are from ’87-’88, making them just a year or two younger than myself – mindboggling! You can clearly see how crudely they were sculpted and cast; just look at that sword! Nevertheless, I find them absolutely charming and nostalgia-inducing, even though they were released a dozen years before I took my first steps in the hobby.

I wonder who sculpted these chaps. He who can enlighten me shall receive a cookie.

I wonder who sculpted these chaps. He who can enlighten me shall receive a cookie.

The models were painted as per the rest of my fledgling Ork army, of course. Just washes, metallics and a few small details with ‘regular’ paint. The ruddy brown, in particular, is a progression of washes: carroburg crimson, casandora yellow and seraphim sepia. You can get a fairly rich tone with different combinations, so I’d encourage everyone to experiment with these different washes – they’re truly one of GW’s best products.

That about concludes it for this contribution. I’m leaving on a weekend with my in-laws tomorrow so hobby-time will be limited in the coming days. Those Sarmatians I talked about are proving a pain to put together – a nice little blister has formed on the side of my index finger from using my pin vice too often, and I just found out I can’t find my green stuff anymore. Still, they should be built by tomorrow and painted by the end of next week. I’ll try and offer one or two smaller updates such as this one to keep you going in the meantime. Until then!

 

3 comments

  1. sho3box

    Kev “Goblinmaster” Adams sculpted these guys. Bottom centre on the page linked to below is the model with the sword.
    http://www.solegends.com/citcat19911/c2077orkboyz-02.htm

    Im going to nag you again regarding painting technique. I have seen lots of people use inks to paint their figures, bit very few manage to achieve a finish like yours. If it isnt too much trouble then I would love it if you were willing to break it down into a step by step for me. You can do that instead of provide the promised cookie 😉

    • laurensvannijvel

      Thanks for the heads-up regarding the sculptor! Coincidentally, I was thinking today of doing a step-by-step guide to some of my models, and the Orks would be a prime contender as they do showcase a rather special way of painting. I’ve got some contemporary Gretchin models in the pipeline as a reward for further commission work, so those might prove adequate for the walkthrough.

Leave a Reply

