N. Bonaparte

I just got back from a weekend with the in-laws, which was great fun. We rented a vacation house and kind of surprised my father-in-law (who turned 50 yesterday) with a small party. Great food, plenty of quality beers and a long walk in the most northern of Europe’s wine regions. And some gift giving, too.

Another Perry sculpt, already a number of years old I believe.

Another Perry sculpt, already a number of years old I believe.

As I mentioned previously, my father-in-law is kind of a Napoleon fan, mostly because of Waterloo and the damage that final defeat dealt to the man’s psyche. I myself am, of course, mostly interested in his tactical and strategic achievements, but nevertheless we had a few talks about the Corsican Ogre. Since I had a pack of these Perry Miniatures models lying about, the one with Napoleon, Maréchal Ney standing over a table and some other officers close by, I decided to make a gift of Napoleon and use the rest of the pack differently so that Ney is the focal point of my future vignette. A win-win situation, as it is my intention to steadily collect Ney’s corps at Quatre-Bras anyway.

Close ups like this always betray the crudeness of one's painting techniques.

Close ups like this always betray the crudeness of one’s painting techniques.

The model was painted up with standard layering and some washes, so no surprises there. Most areas were painted with familiar colour progressions, such as the skin, but often received an extra final highlight – the flayed one flesh edge paint in the case of the skin. The pantaloon and under-jacket (Napoleonic uniform purists will crucify me for that) were basecoated respectively rakarth flesh and celestra grey, both washed with black and then highlighted with diluted ceramite white.

I'm so glad the Perrys didn't fall for the cliché of Napoleon grasping his belly in pain.

I’m so glad the Perrys didn’t fall for the cliché of Napoleon grasping his belly in pain.

I think it’s about high time I talked about basing. Now I’m really lazy when it comes to basing my models, even though I shouldn’t be. I recognise it’s a really important part of how a model looks – it can both lift up a mediocre paintjob or tear down a great one – but I simply can’t be bothered spending much time on it. For my Napoleonics, and for this model as well, I’ve used coarse sand which was painted mournfang brown and then drybrushed with tyrant skull, and then stuck on some green clump foliage (I bought it in a miniature railroad hobby shop – I believe it’s small clumps of wool?) and some middenland tufts (GW tufts, the green variety). I’ve only been using these tufts for a short while as I used static grass for a long, long time, but they’re a great product (although there are obviously much cheaper alternatives from other companies).

And so another contribution draws to a close. I’ll have more for you this week, hopefully the Sarmatians by the end of it, and probably a small update in the meantime.

“War is the business of barbarians.”
N. Bonaparte

Leave a Reply

