Chaos Knights of Khorne

The sun shines, the spring blossoms sway in the breeze, and I’m at the office tending to the needs of undeserving people. In other words: High time for another blog update!

Since I have all these painted models lying about from previous projects that have that look in their (crookedly painted) eyes of “Please photograph me master, I love you master” I’ve decided to kick off a weekly series of updates about an old paintjob of mine. Henceforth, let’s call it Yesteryear Wednesday. Cute, isn’t it. As it’s been awhile since I’ve posted some Warhammer Fantasy stuff, let’s kick off with a unit of Chaos Knights.

These models were also photographed by Bo of GW Gent.

These models were also photographed by Bo of GW Gent.

This unit is the first, and currently only, of a Khorne-themed army which is to form part of a Grand Host of Chaos as per the Tamurkhan rules. For this reason, I chose to paint them with the same colours and techniques as my Beastmen which you’ve probably seen before on the blog. While the kit itself is really great, with lots of individuality to the five models, I slightly converted the models with Beastmen weapons and shields, and with heads from the regular Chaos Warriors. I wanted them to look slightly more feral to have them tie in better with the Beastmen themselves.

One of the better kits GW has released in recent years, decently priced too.

One of the better kits GW has released in recent years, decently priced too.

Painting was relatively straightforward, with most of the models being covered in metal. This was basecoated with macharius solar orange, washed with devlan mud and baal red, and then edged and weathered in one go with mithril silver. I wanted to do an orange army for the longest time, and it’s a relatively simple technique so I’m quite pleased with it. I really should get going with some more Chaos on the painting table, but it seems historicals have taken over; I’ve hardly painted a Warhammer Fantasy model since these Chaos Knights, last summer.

Speaking of knights: the Sarmatians are nearing completion. They won’t be done today or tomorrow, but I’ll certainly have them done by the end of the week. Until then!

4 comments

  1. sho3box

    These are absolutely great! I plan to rip off the colour technique on some other, quite different models, but I need to nag you a bit further about first if you dont mind 🙂

    Would you mind giving me a step by step of how you painted these guys? From what I can see and from what you have written I figure that it goes something like this:

    Undercoat white
    Paint metal areas, probably with thinned gold or silver of some sort
    Basecoat red/orange areas Macharius Solar Orange (Jokaero Orange would probably do the same thing as they are very similar)
    Wash ENTIRE MODEL with Devlan Mud (is this correct? Or is it just the metal and white, horse areas?
    Wash ORANGE AREAS with Baal Red
    Edged (in a patchy fashion) with Mithril.silver
    “Weathered” in an unspecified way with Mithril (the stage may not exist as it may just be another term used to describe the above

    You dont cover how you painted the bone armour on the horses head and on one of the riders helmets, but I am assuming that they got slightly different attention to make them distinct from the horse areas.

    Am I approximately right about the above? If you could let me know I would really appreciate it. I would love to see if I can get this scheme working on another project of mine.

    Thanks!

    • laurensvannijvel

      You’re nearly right in your assertions! I painted them last year so I can’t fully reconstruct the painting sequence anymore, but:

      Black undercoat, basecoat horseflesh in white, black wash, white highlight. Barding in orange, wash with devlan mud and then baal red. Basecoat mithril silver on detailing, wash with smoky ink (Vallejo) and asurmen blue and then sloppily highlight both the orange and the silver with mithril silver.

      So you see, I used smoky ink instead of devlan mud; I like the effect of the former better for shading and somewhat weathering metallics. Depending on your preference you could do a devlan mud wash over the whole thing, though.

      The bone was done with some older range GW paints, I’ll give the current GW colours: steel legion drab basecoat, brown wash, highlight rakarth flesh and then white.

      Jokaero orange would probably give a lighter shade of orange, which again is up to personal preference. These days I do my orange parts with GW ratskin flesh, which is a slightly more muted colour, but the orange pops out really well once you add a red wash.

      • sho3box

        Fantastic! Thanks for the breakdown. I have a couple of queries (again)…

        Is there a particular reason that you undercoated in black? Am I missing something? Speaking as someone who undercoats 99% of his miniatures black I am aware of the advantages, but this scheme strikes me as one that could benefit from a white (or possibly even grey) undercoat purely in terms of speed. Im not criticising you for it of course, but I am curious in case I am missing something about your process.

        Vallejo Smokey Ink is one of those paints that I have seen mentioned in the context of washing metal areas in numerous places over the last few years. With this recommendation I am going to pick some up and try it out. I think that I will use the Macharius Solar Orange approach to the orange areas as I am looking for as vivid an orange that I can quickly manage: a sci-fi orange, if that makes any sense. Along with red and purple, orange is one of the colours that I have had most trouble with over the years, so I am hopeful that this technique will give me a scheme that I can apply to the small force of Tau that I have been flirting with for a decade.

        If I get my test piece finished over the weekend then I will post a link here if you dont mind. That way you can give me a critique – assuming that you dont mind doing so 🙂

        Thanks again for your help.

  2. Pingback: Tau Test Piece | sho3box

Leave a Reply

