Ork Shokk Attakk Gun

It’s Wednesday again, and so I owe you guys another contribution on an older effort! Seeing as how my previous Ork stuff was well-received, I decided to give you another of these greenskins, and one of my favourite models of theirs too: the Shokk Attakk Gun.

I say 'Shokk Attakk Gun' instead of 'Big Mek with Shokk Attakk Gun'... you get the point.

I say ‘Shokk Attakk Gun’ instead of ‘Big Mek with Shokk Attakk Gun’… you get the point.

Of course, I had an absolutely wonderful experience with Citadel Finecast again. It was better than some of the horror stories I could tell you (there’s one about five boxes of Vampire Count Blood Knights that were opened to produce one complete well-cast unit) but still not exactly perfect, with bubbles, lots of flash etc. I normally would’ve shied away from Finecast, but I really wanted this model.

This guy wasn't easy to paint because of the many overhanging parts he has.

This guy wasn’t easy to paint because of the many overhanging parts he has.

As per usual, I used nothing but washes on the guy. I purposely painted him to the same tabletop quality as the rest of the force, as I am a firm believer of ‘one method’ – every model in an army should receive the same amount and level of attention so that it doesn’t stick out but clearly belongs to the force. I could’ve given this model the paintjob it truly deserves, but then my other Orks would look jealous!

I imagine what kind of noise this thing would make.

I imagine what kind of noise this thing would make.

This isn’t the only Big Mek I have lying around, there’s also a metal model (hurrah!) that’s still in its blister waiting to receive some attention. However, that guy will have to wait a fair bit longer as I am currently not really in the mood for any 40k painting. I’ve done a quick tally of how many models I’ve purchased this year starting from January, and have come to a figure of 385 models of which 92 have received a paintjob, excluding commissions. I’m going to have to do my best to clear that backlog before Crisis ’13 in November…

 

 

Leave a Reply

