More French Dragoons for a Friend – Finally!

At last, at long last these are finished. They took me a huge amount of time, but I’m very glad to have completed work on them with a satisfactory quality. Let’s take a look at the freshly painted front rank first.

Plastics by Perry Miniatures.

Plastics by Perry Miniatures.

These guys easily took me twice as long as they should have. The reason is probably that horrid warpstone glow paint by GW which has terrible coverage over both white and black – when your paint doesn’t flow the way you’d want it to, you lose your motivation, or at least that’s the case with me. Still, once the green was done, painting the rest of the models was fairly straightforward.

I spent a bit more attention on the back of the coats on these guys, for once.

I spent a bit more attention on the back of the coats on these guys, for once.

I’m not superbly happy with my paintjob, mainly with being rid of them. Still, I quite like how the musician came out.

 

The entire finished unit, apart from the basing which the commissioner will do himself.

The entire finished unit, apart from the basing which the commissioner will do himself.

And so here’s the full unit. A fellow over at the Warlord Games forum offered the sensible suggestion of adding some socks to the horses to break them up a bit, and while I would like to actually do something with that suggestion, I’m utterly sick of the sight of these models so they’ll be getting no more brushwork from me. Sorry.

The models will be handed over to the commissioner next Thursday I believe, and I hope he’ll be as happy to receive them as I will be to release them. I’m glad to be free to work on my own models now, without the spectre of a commission piece niggling at the back of my conscience. So you should be seeing a slight rise in productivity as evidenced here on my blog in the coming weeks. Stay tuned!

 

 

One comment

  1. John Michael

    I believe they look very nice. I always liked the GW Dark Angels Green for French Green, with a dark wash (I just bought some of their new dark green wash, I have forgotten the name) with a slight drybrush of GW goblin green.

    I would be a happy owner.

    John

Leave a Reply

