8e Régiment des Hussards

Another episode of Yesteryear Wednesday, finally! And today I’ll be bringing you some more Napoleonics. I know I promised to photograph my Beastmen, but I’m experiencing a very busy week with my girlfriend’s thesis paper to proofread, some fresh painting to be done (more on that tomorrow), making some preparations for my second anniversary with my girlfriend (no spoilers, she reads the blog too) and packing my suitcase for a totally debauched holiday in Slovenia. Thus I chose to do a smaller update today, showing you my 8th Hussars.

A great plastic kit by - who else - Perry Miniatures.

A great plastic kit by – who else – Perry Miniatures.

As usual, this is a great plastic kit by the Perrys. I shouldn’t have bought and painted these as there were no Hussars under Ney’s command at Quatre-Bras, but I chose to pick these up before buying any other of the plastic cavalry kits. They’re an absolutely steal at 18£ for 14 models, in fact I passed on some superfluous models to the Prussian-collecting friend in our little group so he can convert them to Silesian hussars. Plenty of different options in the box, with two types of trousers, three types of headgear and the pélisses being entirely optional. I’m still waiting for a plastic Chasseurs-à-Cheval kit, so here’s to hoping Michael and Alan will answer my prayers.

A ranker with a white horse... Proof that my historical research wasn't that solid a year back.

A ranker with a white horse… Proof that my historical research wasn’t that solid a year back.

I can’t exactly remember why I chose to paint this unit up as 8th; I think it was the relative ease of a red-and-green scheme, plus the fact that I’d just painted a battalion of line and wanted to do something non-blue. The green was painted with my familiar technique, whereas the red was highlighted up to evil sunz scarlet instead of wild rider red.

The musician, with his typical reversed uniform colours.

The musician, with his typical reversed uniform colours.

I’m not terribly happy with the paintjob; I think I’m going to try and enhance the small detailing some day, especially the white lace and buttons. I’ve already added tufts to the bases as with the rest of my existing Napoleonics, which does add to the look. Having shown you these hussars, this also concludes my recap of the existing cavalry in my current collection of Frenchmen. There isn’t all that much to show you besides what you’ve seen so far – just two line battalions. I’ll probably be updating those sometime in August, as I have commenced working on a third infantry battalion as well.

You’ll get another update tomorrow evening, so check back, dear readers!

Leave a Reply

