Testing a New Camera

It’s Yesteryear Wednesday again, and my first blog post in a while. As I mentioned already, I was off to Slovenia for a holiday. Five days of camping next to rowdy Swedes does exhaust you immensely, but I did meet some excellent people including one Englishman who is also a miniature painter. When I related my blog to him he told me that he might be doing a blog on an Inquisitor warband in the future, so I might be sharing his content in the future.

About this blog update: I won’t be bringing you any new models. Sorry. However I will be showing some familiar models photographed with my girlfriend’s brand new camera, a Nikon D90. I hope you’ll like the better quality; click on the image to get a full view.

Click on the image and you'll see this old pervert in glorious detail.

Click on the image and you’ll see this old pervert in glorious detail.

 

My girlfriend rewarded herself with this camera following the conclusion of her studies; she’s been making some lovely detail photographs of flowers and insects, but I naturally wanted to try it out for the betterment of my own blog. She even got a macro lens with the camera at no extra charge, which I’m also keen to try out soon.

 

The face of this chap does stand out better.

The face of this chap does stand out better.

 

The great advantage of this top-of-the-line digital reflex camera as opposed to the mediocre camera in an iPad is that the former allows me to control the lighting. I still don’t have a fixed location for photographing my miniatures and I’m obliged to use daylight and a few sheets of white paper, and this has resulted in past photographs being too dark or bright. Not so with the Nikon; my girlfriend and I fiddled a bit with the ISO and diaphragm width and these are the results.

This picture offers you an intimate look at my freehand and paint chipping.

This picture offers you an intimate look at my freehand and paint chipping.

 

Unfortunately, I won’t always have access to this fantastic camera, and so much of my work will – for now – still be getting photographed with the iPad. However, I’ll be working on photographing the older models and updating my past blog posts with better pictures, especially for the showcase models. There are also some army-wide photographs I’d like to do soon, and of course I’ll be using the Nikon for those.

For now I’ll trust you to like these few pictures, and do check back at the end of this week – some Napoleonic light infantry are slowly coming round the bend. Adios!

2 comments

  1. sho3box

    I love the paint chipping close up. At a glance the effect looks very realistic to me, but the close up reveals that its a reasonable straightforward two-step process. At least, that what it looks like to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

