Chaos Lord of Nurgle (guest contribution!)

It’s been a while since I’ve posted a contribution to this blog – sorry for that! I’ve had yet more social duties to attend to, including a fabulous garden party hosted by my in-laws last Wednesday where my girlfriend and I covered a few country songs. Good times! I didn’t get that much time to paint, alas, but I did manage to complete some Vikings and continue work on the first painting guide (which should be hitting the blog this weekend or early next week). For now, however, I’d like to show you a friend’s Chaos Lord which happened to wander through the sights of my (girlfriend’s) camera:

One of the better character models Games Workshop has released recently.

One of the better character models Games Workshop has released recently.

As you can see from the pictures, this friend of mine – Pieter-Jan is his name – has become quite an accomplished painter. Since he’s in the armed forces and barracked I reckon he doesn’t have much time to hone his skills, so I was pleasantly surprised when he showed me this model yesterday. I’m guessing he probably followed the example of the ‘Eavy Metal colour scheme with some minor alterations, but as you will probably understand I’m unable to give you the usual run-down of the paintjob.

The one thing I'd add to this model is an additional highlight on the black loincloth.

The one thing I’d add to this model is an additional highlight on the black loincloth.

I guess there’s nothing else for it but to pick up my own sample of this model and have a go at it myself, to see if I can do an equally good or perhaps even better job of it. In the meantime, I hope you enjoy these pictures and that you take the time to congratulate Pieter-Jan. And if you’d like to see this kind of blog post featured more in the future, please let me know!

It’ll be a busy weekend on the blog as there will be some Vikings as well, and the aforementioned painting guide, plus some Sarmatians next week. Stay tuned!

 

4 comments

  1. sho3box

    Fantastic colour choices here, the model really pops. The little flashes of red, yellow and verdigris work very well. The skin tones are great, sore and unpleasant looking.

    Very nice.

    • Pieter-Jan Van Gucht

      thank you for those kind words! I really tried to make him look as ‘nurgle-ish’ as possible, but I felt like a few little spots of colour would make the overall model more interesting to look at. I love your stuff as well btw!

Leave a Reply

