Another unit of Viking Bondi

Welcome back to my blog! It’s been a quiet few weeks, first a lengthy holiday in Spain and then a week of acclimatising (as in: coping with a sudden difference in temperature of about 20°). I didn’t get to paint nearly as much as I’d hoped in Spain – just about half of the models I packed – but these Vikings below were mostly completed just before I left. All that was left was the bases, which I finished yesterday, and here they are:

A mix of Gripping Beast and Wargames Factory plastics.

A mix of Gripping Beast and Wargames Factory plastics.

With the previous Bondi unit out of the way I wanted to get another unit painted up as quickly as possible, and reduce somewhat the plastic pile. I had (and still have) tons of the – frankly horrible – Wargames Factory vikings lying around in the pile, and most of a box of their much more agreeable Gripping Beast alternatives, so I decided to do a mixed unit of both kits. However, I’ve used Gripping Beast model arms on all the models, as there is quite a difference in weaponry between the two kits.

Note the hornblowers - I realised I have no command models in any of my units so far!

Note the hornblowers – I realised I have no command models in any of my units so far!

While painting these I tried to find the ‘ceiling’ of my batch size by painting them all in a single sixteen-strong batch, but I think I’m going to stick with eight or twelve in the future. It was just a little bit too tedious to get that many faces, weapons etc. done in one go. Still, for being rather speedpainted (in about three days with an hour or two of painting time a day) I think these came out fairly alright. My Viking painting appetites have nevertheless been sated for a while. Or maybe not – I’ve mailordered Bernard Cornwell’s next instalment in his Viking age series, The Pagan Lord, so that book might inspire me further.

So there you go – but just for a while! I have lots more stuff coming up soon – some Austrian WSS generals (and I’ll try and take pictures of the Bavarians though they’ve been handed over to the commissioner already), those Dacians I took to Spain, my own paintjob of a Nurgle Lord of Chaos, and even some Space Ork vehicles. I can’t tell you in which order they’ll be featured on the blog yet – you’ll just have to wait and see!

One comment

Leave a Reply

