British Para – first WW2 model ever!

With Crisis – the annual wargaming convention of the Tin Soldiers of Antwerp gaming club coming up in four weeks, thoughts among my gaming group are turning towards all the goodness we’ll be able to pick up. On my wishlist are some more Vikings (of course!), a final box of Dacians, a few Japanse warrior monks for Ronin, perhaps some French Napoleonic goodness, and last but not least: British Paras. Hence the model I’ll be featuring today.

A fantastic sculpt by Warlord Games.

A fantastic sculpt by Warlord Games.

At the beginning of this summer, my buddy Pieter-Jan ordered us up a large package from Warlord Games, with plenty of Dacians and a Britain armybook in it for me, and a Bolt Action rulebook and Germany armybook for him. He was kind enough to pass this model, the special edition figure that can only be obtained through Warlord, on to me as I’d already made my mind up about collecting British airborne. A big thanks go to him for this act of generosity – painting this model up was an absolute delight and I’ll certainly be able to use it in my forces, whether as an actual infantryman or as an objective marker.

 

This model really deserves a 360° picture gallery.

This model really deserves a 360° picture gallery.

Painting the man was a bit daunting; I’d originally planned to use Vallejo Model Colour paints for my Paras, but I’ve painted this guy up with my regular GW paints and I think he came out well. The entire model was undercoated white then painted all over with zandri dust, before being given a seraphim sepia wash. Then the camouflage on the denison smock was painted on with warboss green and skrag brown, and the trousers and wounded man’s uniform were painted steel legion drab. After that, another complete wash with agrax earthshade, then on to the highlights which, from then on, were fairly straightforward – I’ve grown used to the colours and so I know which layer goes over which base and so forth.

One challenge for me was beard stubble. I’ve always admired this on a well-painted model but have never been able to – or dared to – try this out for myself. I did some mixing and settled on a mix of cadian fleshtone, black and a little caledor sky to get some blue in. You can’t see it that well in the picture, but I’ll be making some better ones once I get more of them Red Devils finished and based.

That’s it for now! Thanks for reading, and check back later!

 

3 comments

  1. sho3box

    Bothe camo and the stubble look really nice.

    I sound like a broken record here, but I am obsessed with finding a quick way to paint green brown camo (its for my Aliens Colonial Marines) and you might be exactly the right person to ask. So if you get the chance some time I would love to know how you get a finish like that. I have never managed to get it to look quite right myself.

    Your WWII stuff is going to be great, Im certain of it 🙂

    • laurensvannijvel

      Well that’s a question I can’t really provide an answer with decent backing to… The only times I’ve painted camo before I did this para was several years ago on 40k tanks, and it was hideous.

      Quickest way of doing it would probably be much like I tackled it on this para: get two sufficiently different hues of green and brown (and by that I mean: not equally dark and not leaning towards greenish brown or brownish green à la khaki or olive) and do your basecoats. Then wash it all with the same dark brown ink or wash or what have you. The wash will drag the two colours together somewhat, which is why they need to be dissimilar to start with.

      As for patterning, I guess you need to try and vary how you apply those blotches and/or streaks of camo paint to an area, but just varying the angle of your brush in between strokes will probably help out.

      I hope this has been helpful to you; as always, thank you very much for your kind words!

      • sho3box

        That is very helpful, thanks. Pattern painting like that is way out of my comfort zone so sensible pointers like that are exactly what I am looking for. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

