Eilaf den Hårløse and more Vikings

I have lost count of the amount of Vikings I’ve painted by now, but what I have kept my eye on is the number of models I’ve painted this year. So far I’m at a total of 416 models, counting infantry, warmachines, artillery, vehicles, cavalry etc. as just one model. Not too bad, eh? Nevertheless, I’ve set myself the goal of 500 painted ones by the end of the year. Whenever I have some doubts about succeeding, I grab a batch of Vikings and sit down to paint them, because well, Vikings aren’t just fast to paint, they’re also varied and I’ve got some quick techniques down for them. Let’s take a look at the latest helping!

These are actually Anglo-Saxon thegns from Gripping Beast.

These are actually Anglo-Saxon thegns from Gripping Beast.

I had these four lying around from an Anglo-Saxon starter set for Saga which I received as payment for those WSS generals of late. It’s been a while since I’ve painted mailed Vikings as I’ve been concentrating on getting more Bondi done. I tried to keep these as simple as possible as I don’t want them to stick out too much for their decidedly Saxon helmets and mail coat fringes to become apparent to nosy adversaries. Hence, no gold detailing on their helmets.

 

Some decidedly aged sculpts by Old Glory.

Some decidedly aged sculpts by Old Glory.

I did a batch of eight bondi separately, which were painted very quickly: some pale greens and ochres over a white undercoat, or just left white, with a seraphim sepia wash on top.

 

Missed a few spots while washing them, oh well.

Missed a few spots while washing them, oh well.

Leather, wood and metal were basecoated in respectively mournfang brown, steel legion drab and runefang steel, before these areas were washed with agrax earthshade. There’s not much more to it than this!

 

Some nice sculpts by Gripping Beasts.

Some nice sculpts by Gripping Beasts.

And now, the pièce de résistance: Eilaf the Hairless! I was in need of a new warlord model for a second division in my army when playing Hail Caesar, or as a leader for a second warband when I’m giving demo games of Saga (which has actually been fairly common this year). As I had that Anglo-Saxon warband lying around, I decided to use the warlord included therein, plus two of the warrior models which, I think, have great poses.

The one on the right is just waiting to be stabbed in the gut, but that's life!

The one on the right is just waiting to be stabbed in the gut, but that’s life!

When painting these models I wanted to go for contrast; the front of the model incorporating a limited palette and a certain uniformity, and the back being a riot of colour. I like how it all turned out, and I believe the crowded base helps to identify this guy as a person of some importance. I don’t find the warlord model itself to be all that different from the hirdmen or thegn models I’m using, after all.

 

I believe that wraps it up for now. Next week you can expect the first Dutch cavalrymen to roll out, and after that, who knows? Maybe even more Vikings. I’ll be picking up some Vikings of the Baltic variety at Crisis soon, so my forays into the north are far from over. Skoll!

3 comments

  1. Engel

    Looking great.
    Dont worry about those saxon helmets, I think that if they come across a perfectly fine helmet they would use it.

    Nice with the extra miniatures on the command stand. As you said, he doesnt stick out that much on him self and as he is behind the big shield it isn´t helping eather.

    Cheers/ Jonas

Leave a Reply

