Dutch Cavalry of the Eighty Years War

It’s been a quiet week again on the blog, mainly due to not having access to a camera. But fear not, multiple updates on my latest projects are inbound! For now we’ll take a look at a batch of Dutch cavalry.

Lovely plastic models from Warlord Games.

Lovely plastic models from Warlord Games.

I got a box of these as payment for painting up the last two WSS generals in September, and of course I had to paint up a first batch of them quick sharp! Although they’re marketed as Parliamentary cavalry they fit in well with Thirty Years War and late Eighty Years War models; I nevertheless carried out a minute conversion by giving the rightmost cavalryman a Swedish morion helm.

 

I had a blast painting the flag finials and the little flag on the musician's trumpet.

I had a blast painting the flag finials and the little flag on the musician’s trumpet.

I decided upon a different spot colour from the cold blue-greys of my (first) infantry battalion, but wanted to keep to the blue spectrum. Hence this turquoise tone which I had already used extensively on my Arab warband. Apart from that there was a little bit of grey still used, and of course orange – they wouldn’t be Dutchmen otherwise!

 

Best horses on the market? Possibly!

Best horses on the market? Possibly!

I had a great time painting these Warlord Games horses. They’ve got four different poses per sprue but you can vary these by mixing up the two halves of the bodies. Especially the pose of the horse in the foreground of this picture is magnificent, I think. I’ve painted numerous horse models from many different manufacturers over the years, and these are probably the best you’ll find in 28mm. Warlord Games are currently holding a sale on individual sprues, so for 2£ per sprue you can’t go wrong with trying them out.

That’s it for now! In the coming days you’ll be seeing Vikings; Rus Vikings, Jomsvikings and Viking casualty markers. Am I biased? No!

Leave a Reply

