Red Devils – the reinforced platoon edition

Holy mackerel! It’s been a while since I’ve been able to photograph my models and show them to you, but here we go! I’ve been working against (arguably self-imposed) commission painting deadlines recently, finishing the models’ paintjobs just scant hours before handing them over to their rightful owners, and so I have done a lot of painting I won’t be able to show you – sixteen Rus Princes horsemen and six katana samurai, among others.

However, I found the right amount of time and some decent lighting conditions today to take pictures of my Red Devils. They’re currently a finished project – how in the blazes! – but the force might still be expanded a bit, depending on what my girlfriend has bought me for Christmas. Let’s take a look!

A Vickers machinegun team and a PIAT team by Warlord Games. Excellent Paul Hicks sculpts.

A Vickers machinegun team and a PIAT team by Warlord Games. Excellent Paul Hicks sculpts.

First up we have the final paintjobs, completed just yesterday. Nothing special – they’re painted exactly as the previous batches, apart from a few details here and there.

A section of Warlord Games on the left, and one of Artizan Designs on the right.

A section of Warlord Games on the left, and one of Artizan Designs on the right. No duplicate models in the force, and that’s how I like it.

Here are the two infantry sections in glorious depth-of-field; the one on the left hasn’t been shown to you before. On the whole, the two sculpting styles go together very well, with minimal size differences. The Artizan models have a bit more exaggeration in their poses and expressions, though, and there was a lot more cleanup to be done on the casts beforehand. Still, if I should expand the force to have a third infantry section, I think I’ll go for Artizan again as they sell their paras in two packs of ten with no sculpts mixed between the two. Warlord Games, if any of you are reading this: try and do this with your own packs!

The entire force as it is right now. Click the picture to see it in its full size!

The entire force as it is right now. Click the picture to see it in its full size!

So here’s the full army. I have my first game of Bolt Action coming up next week against – who else – ze Germans. Here’s my 650 point armylist:

Veteran first lieutenant with two paratroopers: 116

Veteran medic: 30

Paratroop section: 4x sten, 4x rifle, bren and loader: 172

Paratroop section: 3x sten, 4x rifle, bren and loader: 169

Light mortar team: 46

PIAT team: 52

Vickers MMG: 65

I hope this blog update was worth the wait. As ever, feel free to comment, and stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

