First of the Fallschirmjäger

Continuing on with the current WW2 craze in our gaming group, and with no further Red Devils to paint, I’ve started work on my Fallschirmjäger platoon. I picked up the boxed set and an MG42 team from Warlord Games at Crisis 2013 at just twenty pounds for the lot which was an irresistible deal. Two months later  and here are the first krauts!

A medic, officer and observer, all by Warlord Games.

A medic, officer and observer, all by Warlord Games.

Again, these are metal miniatures sculpted by Paul Hicks, and his qualities are evident. There’s some nice, crisp detail, realistic poses and accurate uniform and kit to be appreciated on these models. I particularly like the radioman, which I’ll be using as an artillery or air observer.

The helmets are less blue in real life.

The helmets are less blue in real life.

I painted these starting from a white undercoat. The camo parts were undercoated rakarth flesh, and blotched with mournfang brown and VMC Russian green (894). This was washed with agrax earthshade, then the green blotches were given a highlight with elysian green. For the feldgrau bits I had to make do with GW paints after I’d passed my VMC German dark green on to a German Heer -collecting friend. I basecoated them in dawnstone, then washed with biel-tan green and nuln oil, before applying a dawnstone highlight.

A medium mortar. The rifleman on the right was added to make everything conform the Bolt Action rules for the model.

A medium mortar. The rifleman on the right was added to make everything conform the Bolt Action rules for the model.

Other than that, the woodwork and metal parts were painted with the same techniques as those of my Red Devils. The bases are, as you can see, still unfinished; I’m debating whether to base them in the same fashion as my Red Devils, or to go for a more arid type for possible Eastern Front situations.

That’s it for today! You’ll get some more Fallschirmjäger helpings soon enough, as I have an infantry section on my painting desk. My ladyfriend and my parents were kind to me as well, and so I’ve got some more WW2 stuff in the mail, including vehicles (exciting!) Other than that, you can expect a DIY scenery project and a Sarmatian update on the blog this week. Let’s get this show on the road again!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

