More Fallshies – Infantry and a Hanomag

Finally, some time to take photographs! I decided to go ahead and put my new Krauts in front of the camera, and here they are.

Models by Warlord Games.

Models by Warlord Games.

I started out with a sizable chunk of my support and HQ models for this project, so obviously an infantry section had to follow. These were great fun to paint; some really deep detail makes my multifarious washes work their magic on them.

 

The sculpted detail on the webbing is astounding.

The sculpted detail on the webbing is astounding.

I’m still debating how to combine the different models in my collection into a reinforced platoon, but I’m getting there. I’ve received some presents from my girlfriend and my parents, and among them was a Hanomag:

 

The excellent full plastic Hanomag by Warlord Games.

The excellent full plastic Hanomag by Warlord Games.

It’s been a while since I’ve built and painted a vehicle, so I was keen to try out some new techniques. Now I don’t own an airbrush nor am I inclined to purchase one, so I had to hand paint on the camouflage. It’s not as great looking as the smooth contours of an airbrushed camo pattern.

 

Vrööm, as Jerry would say.

Vrööm, as Jerry would say.

Still, I had great fun weathering the model with the GW texture paints and the new typhus corrosion technical paint. One thing I did forget to do is to add decals; I’ve got a Puma coming up as well so I think I’ll leave that until the latter is ready for it.

Et voilà! I have several blog updates in the pipeline – read: a backlog of pictures – but these will have to wait until another day. Stay tuned, dear readers!

One comment

  1. daggerandbrush

    Greetings and thumbs up for your Krauts from another Kraut. The camouflage came out nicely on the troopers. The Hanomag looks good, too, even so you hand painted the camo. You could experiment with templates and spray paint by say Tamiya or so. Could work and will cost a fraction of an airbrush system.

Leave a Reply

