Vikings with Dane Axes

It’s that Viking time of the year again, as it always is really, and I figured my army needed some dane axe-armed models. I’d like to build them up towards a sixteen-strong unit (a full unit of them for Hail Caesar as we play it) but the rest will have to wait. So here’s the first batch of these iconic mead-drinkers!

Four models from the Norse Gael line by Gripping Beast.

Four models from the Norse Gael line by Gripping Beast. The one on the left is called Gunnar Goldilocks, because yes.

Nothing special about these paintjobs of course – just the standard basecoat, wash, highlight I do on my other Vikings.

Four further axemen from the Anglo-Dane line by Gripping Beast.

Four further axemen from the Anglo-Dane line by Gripping Beast.

Of course, you’ll note that their bases need finishing. But that’s about it really.

That’s all I have to say about these models; more Vikings are inbound next week though so I’ll save my words for that iteration. Other than that, I’ve accepted a small new commission, mostly early crusades themed. More on that next week!

3 comments

  1. daggerandbrush

    For a basic paintjob as you say they came out very well. The blond hair looks good and is not too yellow. I do like their colourful attire and especially the striped pants.

  2. Primeaardvark88

    Just found you. Love your work. I am just starting to embark on painting Vikings for hail ceasar. Do you put on a primer coat? What color?

    • laurensvannijvel

      I never go without a primer coat – like the rest of my paints I use GW primers for this, but I do have some Army Painter colour sprays coming back from Salute for me. I use black for armoured models such as hirdmen, and white for the rest.

      Vikings in Hail Caesar are great – you can combine your Hird and Bondi into mixed units giving your army a great initial boost. And with the Gripping Beast plastics you can build up a collection of them on the cheap. Good luck with it!

Leave a Reply

