Dacian Reinforcements

It’s always heartening when the end of a project is in sight, and certainly so for the Dacians and Sarmatian army I’ve been collecting for close to a year now. I’ll probably fail to get each and every unit done in time, but it certainly won’t take me that long anymore. Below you can inspect two of the newest additions to my army.

A unit of the plastic Celts from Warlord Games, with a metal Dacian command and two of the Linebreaker models.

A unit of the plastic Celts from Warlord Games, with a metal Dacian command and two of the Linebreaker models.

This is a standard warband, the second of its kind in my army, and as such it’s largely the same as the one I showed you earlier. I spent a hell of a long time getting this unit done; some of the models were painted in Spain on holidays in September, about half were done in December last year, and I only managed to get my basing act together in February. Phew.

 

The back of the unit. I really like the musculature on these models.

The back of the unit. I really like the musculature on these models.

Paintingwise I’ll have to refer you to my other posts on the subject of this army – nothing to see here!

 

A unit of falxmen by Warlord Games.

A unit of falxmen by Warlord Games.

Of course, it being a Dacian army, some falxmen are to be expected, and I of course I had to deliver! I picked up a box of these guys at Crisis 2013 and they were done in two batches in February and March respectively. The lead pile is actually not too bad at the moment!

Take a close look at the hands, and you'll see.

Take a close look at the hands, and you’ll see.

Speaking of bad: this kit could use some reimagining by the fellows over at Warlord. You get an all-metal command group in the box as well as twelve upper bodies wielding falxes double-handed, which are all excellent, but then comes the rest… Loose falxes. I don’t know what they were thinking, but I had to make right-handed falxmen by carefully cutting away half of the plastic Celts’ hands until I had a U-shaped cut I could place the weapons in. The reason you’re seeing so many left-handed falxmen is because some of the plastic models have open left hands in which a banner can be placed, and of course I made ample use of these. But I think it still looks silly – the bigger falxes in the box couldn’t be wielded in one hand. I would urge Warlord to redesign the metal falxes so that they have hands attached to them, which would allow you to cut the hands off the plastics and glue or even pin the new hands in their place. Many of the plastics have arm rings anyway, which would mask the join.

Still, it’s yet another unit done, and I’m well on the way to finishing the army with just a unit of nobles and a unit of skirmishers left. More on those later!

 

2 comments

  1. Monty

    Wonderful work, especially the skintones and muscles! I can just imagine these mad devils descending on a Legion.

    I’ve got a Dacian army in 15mm waiting for paint. It won’t be nearly as fun to paint nor look as good when it’s done. Nevertheless, this post is good inspiration.

Leave a Reply

