Viking update #469313

When yours truly needs a break from doing his other stuff, Viking paintjobs happen. I decided to get some metal models done, which were tucked away in plastic bags here and there, and this allowed me to impose some order on my collection.

 

Six Hird by Old Glory.

Six Hird by Old Glory.

First up were a batch of twelve Old Glory models. I’ve already painted each of these sculpts, many times in some cases, and these are some of the last guys in the bag.

Some weird poses.

Some weird poses.

Nothing special about these paintjobs, they’re the standard colourful stuff.

 

Models from the Anglo-Saxon levy pack by Gripping Beast

Models from the Anglo-Saxon levy pack by Gripping Beast

Much the same was done for these fyrd. They’re half of a unit for the Northumbrian division in my army, and they’re actually Anglo-Saxon levies from the Anglo-Saxon starter warband for Saga which I got last year. Some of these models are fighting barefoot, but I painted them as having shoes – no hippies in my army!

These models' shields were scavenged from the Old Glory models

These models’ shields were scavenged from the Old Glory models

Other than a quick shield swap, these guys were very straightforward as most of my Vikings are done. I’ve done a quick headcount, and I’m currently sitting at 208 Vikings painted – I never would’ve guessed! There are still some metal models left, as well as quite a few plastics… I guess I’ll never run out of them.

That’s it for today, though – later this week I should be able to show you some of the last Dacian units, and then it’s on to more commission painting in the form of WSS infantry and some Praetorians. Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

