Irishmen of Berwick

I’m having a very productive month of April, so I thought I’d share some of my output with you again. The regiment below is yet another WSS commission for my wargaming chum Alex, this time Berwick. The pictures are extremely shoddy as I was running out of time and I had to use the iPad for it, but they’ll give you at least an idea of it.

Some lovely models by Ebor, sculpted by Paul Hicks.

Some lovely models by Ebor, sculpted by Paul Hicks.

These models are from Ebor, the same as the Swiss ones I painted up back in January, although these are predominantly firing poses as opposed to the marching ones from back then. It’s a bit of a shame that the command group is the same; the unit would benefit from its command models standing still instead of marching. Oh well, as long as the owner’s happy with them!

 

The models will be based and provided with flags by the owner.

The models will be based and provided with flags by the owner.

I painted this entire unit in just two days, which is quite rapid by my standards. Basecoating them red helped immensely, as well as washes. This time I block painted most of the colours over the red before applying a dip-style agrax earthshade wash to the entire model, and I then reapplied some of the basecoats as a highlight tone. I painted them all in a single batch, which I usually don’t like that much – twelve-strong batches are often more than enough for me. Still, I persevered and it paid off handsomely. They’re not the best paintjobs I’ve ever done but I think with proper basing they’ll certainly look the part!

That’s about it for today, though. I have one further unit I’ll be blogging on this weekend, and then it’s off to more commission painting – the new Gripping Beast crusaders!

Leave a Reply

