Early Crusaders for a Friend

Just a quick write-up about these guys as I’m on my way to an alcohol-themed night in Ghent with my good friend Bram, but there’s some pictures!

All models by Gripping Beast. Yes, the bandage over the eye needs some more detail.

All models by Gripping Beast. Yes, the bandage over the eye needs some more detail.

These are commission models for Kurt, much like the crossbowmen and cavalry I did last month. As such, there’s the white-and-blue heraldry I had to incorporate into the models.

Four foot knights with double axes - pinning the weapons cost me three drill bits.

Four foot knights with double axes – pinning the weapons cost me three drill bits.

I decided to use more of the white and blue on these models, seeing as how they’re the elite of the army. Seems legit.

 

I particularly like the striped helmets I did on these guys.

I particularly like the striped helmets I did on these guys.

Still, I did use a couple of exotic colours very sparingly on these guys, such as the violet turban on the rear leftmost chap. Other than that, they’re all standard fare!

 

The flute player front right looks so silly that I just had to give him a red hat.

The flute player front right looks so silly that I just had to give him a red hat.

These last levies do require some tufting, but otherwise they’re all done! I have many more of their mounted brethren to take care of (an entire starter warband!) so I’ll be commission painting more of these new Gripping Beast models soon enough. Up next, though, are the final Dacians. Until then!

3 comments

    • laurensvannijvel

      Thanks! I must admit I have been doing quantity over quality for a bit, so your comment wasn’t entirely unexpected in that regard. I’ve been working hard at getting some projects squared away and the paintjobs might have suffered as a result. Still, glad you like these!

      • sho3box

        Just to clarify, I definitely dont think that your other work is bad, I just like these more than most 🙂

        I think that it may be the bright, graphic scheme that appeals to me, rather than it necessarily being about technique.

        Great work regardless 🙂

Leave a Reply

