Blog post #100: The Full Dacian & Sarmatian Army

Yes, you read it right – this blog has been up for slightly over a year and has finally hit the 100th post. To mark the occasion of this milestone in my hobby life – because blogs usually crash and burn after a month or two, right? – I decided to reward you with some shots of a project that’s been on the blog since its modest beginning and has now reached its conclusion. Huzzah!

First off we have the final unit to be added to the army, which are the Dacian skirmishers. Let’s take a look at these first, but don’t worry, the army-wide shots are just a scroll away!

All models are the bog standard plastics by Warlord Games.

All models are the bog standard plastics by Warlord Games.

I had a bunch of models left from my warbands, so I thought: let’s not spend dozens of pounds on metal ranged units but try and make some from what I have left! While building the other models I had saved up the shields with javelins attached to them, and it paid off – I had just enough for ten models. For the javelins themselves, I used the upper bodies with spears attached, then cut off the tip of the spears so that just the metal spear butts remained, then cut off the hands at the wrist and glued them back on in a new angle. I didn’t really achieve a throwing pose, but I think it gets the job done.

 

Just before taking the pictures, the banner pole broke off. Joy.

Just before taking the pictures, the banner pole broke off. Joy.

I glued these models only two to a base instead of three, just to give them a looser formation as would befit skirmishers. As you can see in the second picture, I added two command models and positioned them so that I can either use the unit as two small units or one standard unit. Painting-wise there wasn’t much to say, apart from how relieved I am about getting the project done!

And now, the whole army!

All models by Warlord Games.

All models by Warlord Games. Tablecloth by Mother. Camera by Girlfriend.

As always, you can click on the images to get a high-res version. Especially for big shots like these it’s imperative to get a decent look.

The Sarmatian side of things. They still need a commander of sorts, but that's low priority.

The Sarmatian side of things. They still need a commander of sorts, but that’s low priority.

You’ve seen the Sarmatians a while back, but here they are again. Clockwise from the top: two small units of horse archers, a small unit of light cavalry with javelins, and a standard hits-like-a-truck Sarmatian Cataphract block.

 

And the Dacians in all their half-naked splendour.

And the Dacians in all their half-naked splendour.

And here they are, the rabble, the vermin, the oathbreakers, the bane of Domitian. Clockwise from the top left, we have: two small units of skirmishers, a warband, a unit of nobles, a falx warband, and another warband.

That’s it, that’s the project done! Or is it? I’m putting this one ‘on hold’ in favour of other, more pressing projects. There are actually many more units I’d like to add to the army, such as some of the Celt cavalry, a commander for my Sarmatians, a scorpio or two, another cataphract block etc. not to mention more warbands! I’ll probably collect these final units piecemeal, and they’ll have to wait until next year in any case.

Other than that, here’s to another 100 blog posts! I’ve a couple more posts coming your way next week, and a few tentative commissions coming up too. I hope you continue to like my work, and until soon!

7 comments

  1. Monty

    Love ’em, these really shine!

    I’m finishing Dacians in 15mm for FoG but 28mm is so much nicer. I hope your lads fight as well as they look.

  2. sho3box

    Great work. An army to be proud of.

    Do you know how many miniatures you have documented in your first 100 posts? It must be over a thousand.

Leave a Reply

