Flemish Foot Commander and attendants

Among the models my friends brought back from Salute for me (at no charge, as they were paid for by my commission painting service!) were the final crucial models for my Flemish warband. I say “crucial” because while I have many other suitable models lying in boxes that could be added to the army, I needed the models below to field a Flemish Saga warband – one with Hereward the Wake, Flemish mercenaries and the Anglo-Danish battleboard. While I actually have the official Hereward model lying unpainted, I figured a more 11th century look would suit my warband better, and so I arrived at the foot command standing pack from Perry Miniatures’ early crusader range.

The two models at the front are Perry Miniatures, the ones at the back are Conquest Games plastics.

The two models at the front are Perry Miniatures, the ones at the back are Conquest Games plastics.

I based the guy on a 40x40mm square base together with other models, so that he can also be used for non-skirmishing rulesets as a command stand within units, as well as for Warhammer Fantasy. Behind the commander and his standard bearer are two plastic Conquest Games Normans, just to fill the base out. The scale difference is noticeable, but I’m okay with it.

Four more Perry Miniatures models.

Four more Perry Miniatures models.

I also painted up the other models from the pack, while I was at it. As you can see I’ve used a much simpler heraldic device on these guys; I have plans to expand this army further, and having to paint dozens or even hundreds more lions would drive me mad. I’m probably going to vary the shield designs between units, keeping to the yellow-and-black to still firmly identify them.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

