Samurai for a Friend

Salute 2014 has come and gone, and with that some more Japs have made it onto my painting table. These are reinforcements for Henk’s Ronin warband; he’s got more than enough models to play that skirmish game, but his forces were lacking a bit of variety.

All models by Perry Miniatures.

All models by Perry Miniatures.

First up we have these three mounted chaps. I used my new Army Painter sprays on the horses – fur brown for these three – and I’m pleased with how they came out. I washed them with agrax earthshade straight away and then highlighted them back with deathclaw brown, and voilà!

 

Three of the yari-wielding samurai.

Three of the yari-wielding samurai.

As you can see I worked within the palette used on the ashigaru, but made variations upon it – these are samurai and so should not be uniformly clothed and armoured!

 

The weird angle was a byproduct of the models being removed from their temporary bases too soon. Damn!

The weird angle was a byproduct of the models being removed from their temporary bases too soon. Damn!

While I was keen to get painting on these lads, I quickly found out I hate them. Don’t get me wrong, the models themselves are fantastic – you’ll never hear me speak ill of Perry products! – but I believe the molds for many of the sculpts in this range are a bit worn out. The detail isn’t all that clear anymore, which is especially visible on the models’ hands and armour. Consequently, painting these wasn’t very enjoyable, and I just hope Henk won’t be let down by the paintjobs.

Still, that’s another clump of models done. I have six more Samurai that I’ll be doing up soonish, basically the same infantry you see above but with their yari swapped out for naginata (plural? domo arigato, mister roboto?). Other than that, I’ve some Ronin stuff that still needs finishing for my own warband, so I’d best get to work on those as well.

You’ll be getting one more update from me tomorrow, which will also feature a small report on my first Napoleonic game which I’ll be playing this evening. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

