More Jomsviking Mercenaries

As promised, here is the second blog update for today. A short while back I showed off the first eight Jomsviking mercenaries for my Viking army, and I’m happy to report that the rest are done, including their battle leader. They’ve even had a first outing in a game of Hail Caesar last Tuesday, and they more or less wiped the floor with most of their opposition. Good stuff!

'Official' Jomsvikings by Gripping Beast from the Jomsviking Two pack.

‘Official’ Jomsvikings by Gripping Beast from the Jomsviking Two pack.

Whilst painting these units was a blast, assembling them was rather the opposite. I don’t know why Musketeer/Gripping Beast still insists on having modelers drill out the models’ hands to get the weapons in. It’s 2014 and plenty of companies either cast their hands open or on the weapons – I’m not saying GB doesn’t do this on some of their models , but I’d really like it if they would do all of their future models that way as well. Despite this, these Jomsvikings are fantastic sculpts, so it’s a minor gripe.

Making do with leftovers - these are three Old Glory vikings with hand- and shield swaps, and a plastic GB viking.

Making do with leftovers – these are three Old Glory vikings with hand- and shield swaps, and a plastic GB viking.

I only managed to snatch up twelve Baltic-looking armoured vikings at Crisis 2013, so to top up the unit to sixteen (a standard unit in our Dark Age games of Hail Caesar) I’ve dragged in some loose models from my lead pile. I made good use of the rectangular shields I had lying around from last year’s Jomsviking commission to tie in these ‘ordinary’ vikings with their ‘official’ brethren. The one on the right in the picture above still needs a flag or totem on his spear, though – I just haven’t come across the right bit yet.

 

The warlord, also of Gripping Beast make.

The warlord, also of Gripping Beast make.

I’ve painted this guy before for my friend Kurt’s Jomsviking warband, and I definitely wanted to get him for my own collection. I really, really like this sculpt, you see.

 

Group shot! Smile to the camera and say " minoritetsladningsbærerdiffusjonskoeffisientmålingsapparatur"!

Group shot! Smile to the camera and say “Minoritetsladningsbærerdiffusjonskoeffisientmålingsapparatur”!

So there’s the entire deal – a standard-sized Viking Mercenary unit for Hail Caesar including their own commander, or a Warlord and four points of Hearthguards for Saga purposes. Yet another part of my large Viking collection – if I’m not mistaken I’ve 217 painted models – is thus completed. Now it’s on to more Northumbrian subjects!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

