Crusader Bowmen for a Friend

First update in quite a while – sorry for that. Being thrust into a new job has cut into my painting time quite severely, but at least I have something to show you today. I’m wrapping up my commission work on those blue-and-white Crusaders for my friend Kurt; I finished some mounted knights and warlord for him but didn’t have time to photograph these. So here are some of his bowmen instead.

Four metal bowmen from Gripping Beast.

Four metal bowmen from Gripping Beast.

Some same old, same old models from Gripping Beast, as you can see. Characterful features, crisp detail on belts and leg wrappings, and deep sculpting on the cloth areas are their trademarks, so no disappointments here.

Just four sculpts in this unit... A bit too many clones for my taste.

Just four sculpts in this unit… A bit too many clones for my taste.

Unfortunately there appear to be just four sculpts, so I had to play around with varying the colour schemes across the clones to make them look interesting. Of course, the paintjob and paints used are identical to the other models I’ve painted up for this project.

The half-and-half blue/white tunic is one I'm rather proud of. Very catchy.

The half-and-half blue/white tunic is one I’m rather proud of. Very catchy.

So that’s them done – just twelve spearmen and four foot knights with great weapons to go. I’ll have a lot of pinning to do on those guys… I’d best get to it.

Other than that, there’s another Napoleonic update due tomorrow, so I hope you’ll look forward to that one. There are Greeks on my desk at the moment – enough to finish my first phalanx – as well as some scenery pieces I’d like to show you soon. So stay tuned, dear readers!

 

Leave a Reply

