Good Rockin’ Brown and Filthy Harold – Western models!

Another quick update to the blog, as it’s overdue! With my new job being much more taxing on my painting time, I’ve done a few little bits and bobs to keep things fresh for me and, more importantly, to be able to tell myself that I can still finish a model or two in time. That big Viking was among the lucky fellows to receive a paintjob, but here are two Western guys, first among a batch of about thirty such miniatures – also kindly gifted to me by Eddy of the Red Barons.

Don't ask me for the make of these models - I received them in unmarked black jewelry boxes.

Don’t ask me for the make of these models – I received them in unmarked black jewelry boxes.

On the left we have Good Rockin’ Brown; I reckoned my Western skirmish model collection would have to incorporate at least one black or mixed race cowboy, as they’re just so oddball in the setting. I stole the name from the Roy Brown song Butcher Pete. You’ll probably figure out the inspiration for his compatriot Filthy Harold’s name, right? I looked at that humongous six-shooter at his hip and didn’t need much considering!

 

The bases are simply white undercoated coarse sand shaded with AP soft tone.

The bases are simply white undercoated coarse sand shaded with AP soft tone.

These are 40mm models, which is a small step up from 28mm, but I didn’t use any advanced techniques on these fellas – apart from Harold’s striped trousers, that is. These are average quality sculpts – most of the batch I got are models standing completely still with their hands hovering at their gunbelts, with only a few exceptions holding rifles. Still, one does not look a gift horse in the mouth! I’ll gladly continue painting the rest in between the more involved batches of models.

All I need now is a good ruleset! If any of you readers have any good suggestions on the subject, please let me know in a comment down below!

Leave a Reply

