Crusader Pilgrims

On my recent holiday to Spain I took along quite a few early crusaders to paint. With Lions Rampant – the new medieval ruleset from the writer of Dux Bellorum – on the horizon and Saga – the Crescent and the Cross finally out, our little gaming group has been devoting its attention to medieval armies as of late. My own Flemish have thus been getting some licks of the brush over the past weeks. I’ve got some regular infantry coming up soon, but here are some pilgrims:

Lovely sculpts by Perry Miniatures.

Lovely sculpts by Perry Miniatures.

I recently read a book on the First Crusade by Thomas Asbridge, to accompany this project’s proceedings. It’s certainly worth recommending to you, as I really sympathised with the immense hardships these pilgrims suffered and, if you will believe it, my paintjob was more emphatic as a result. Then again, it’s hard not to love a Perry model.

 

Flashy red crosses pick these out as Crusader rabble - if only just!

Flashy red crosses pick these out as Crusader rabble – if only just!

I figured I needed some irregulars for my army anyway; these might not be useful for 1066 purposes, but as crusaders they’ll certainly be put to use. As you might recall I had already commission painted Gripping Beast’s version of pilgrims back around April, so I preferred getting the Perry models for myself. Two packs of six makes for just the right sized unit for Saga levies.

 

Fitting an entire family on a 20x20mm base in 28mm; it's a stretch.

Fitting an entire family on a 20x20mm base in 28mm; it’s a stretch.

Still, I’d like to have a big unit of rabble for rulesets with bigger units (Bretonnians for Warhammer, even?) so I might pick up the Gripping Beast pilgrims at some point. Also, some clergymen would be a nice addition to the collection – I have another Perry blister with Peter the Hermit and Adhémar of Le Puy on my desk, but they’ll have to wait. First up are some more crusaders for my friend Kurt. Thanks for reading, and until soonish!

Leave a Reply

