More Flemish Crusaders

Back with another update in just over 24 hours, huzzah! I chugged away at the unit below last night and finally got them done. These are the models I took to Spain with me on holiday at the beginning of the month, so these models have seen a bit of traveling quite like their real life counterparts would have (but not by airplane).

 

A mix of models: mostly Conquest Games plastics, but with a Gripping Beast and Perry Miniature crusader here and there.

A mix of models: mostly Conquest Games plastics, but with a Gripping Beast and Perry Miniature crusader here and there.

Part of the reason why it’s taken me almost a month to complete the unit is because I painted all thirty-two of them in one go. Normally I prefer smaller batches for variety, but with these guys I wanted to prove something to myself. I ended up getting stuck on the basing part and really struggled to get motivated, but all’s well ends well.

 

The back of the unit betrays a lot less colour than the front.

The back of the unit betrays a lot less colour than the front.

Paintingwise I had to cope with the blazing Spanish sun which often dried out my paint – our vacation house’s balcony faces the south – and a paint spill inside the sealable plastic bag which meant the end for an unlucky pot of skrag brown.

 

The obligatory casualty markers return.

The obligatory casualty markers return.

Apart from the unit itself I also painted these casualty markers (one sporting a headswap to alleviate clone syndrom) and two extra goons with lions on their shields to help buff the existing infantry unit up to 30 as well. I’m now at a healthy 60 infantry which means I can field five twelve-strong units for our games of Sword & Spear, or two blocks of Bretonnian men-at-arms (if Games Workshop ever decides to release something other than power-armoured models again).

I don’t think I’ll be doing more Flemish this year, as the commissions are cropping up again – WSS and Napoleonic Prussians, chiefly. So that’s what you’ll be getting shortly around the bend. Good boo!

4 comments

  1. daggerandbrush

    Very impressive result. The bases look very realistic and work great in mass. The shields draw them all together and the battle damage here and there adds realism. The muted colours for the fabrics provide a good resting point for the eye, while the yellow really makes them pop.

Leave a Reply

