Crusader Spearmen for a Friend

Finally! I’m finally done painting a unit that’s been on my desk for an age. I don’t have much to tell you about these models other than that, so I’ll just let the pictures speak for themselves.

All models by Gripping Beast.

All models by Gripping Beast.

These are twelve spearmen for Saga Crescent & Cross and other rulesets like Lion Rampant, Sword & Spear etc.

 

I had to add a little colour to keep the unit interesting.

I had to add a little colour to keep the unit interesting.

These are your typical Gripping Beast sculpts: deep detail, big faces and hands, and hands that need to be drilled out to accept spears, which I absolutely despise.

 

...and that marks the end of another commission project.

…and that marks the end of another commission project.

So that’s another project done. I actually heard that Kurt, the friend I’ve painted these for, won a Saga tournament and chose a Saracen starter warband as his prize. Chances are I’ll be painting those in 2015, so I’ll not be out of the Crusades loop for long!

Stay tuned for more Prussians – the second half is currently on my desk and will be on the blog sometime next week. Also some more French artillery, or maybe something else. Who knows? Until next time!

Leave a Reply

