The Beautiful Alliance

It was only a matter of minutes before I caved in and put the 28mm mdf version of one of the most famous buildings in history on my Warlord Games wishlist; and my girlfriend duly responded by putting it in my Christmas stocking. I’ve painted it up within less than 24 hours of receiving it, which must be a first for me!

A great building by Sarissa Precision.

A great building by Sarissa Precision.

This is the first mdf kit I’ve assembled, and overall I’m really pleased with this kit. It was easy to put together with just PVA, and the instruction leaf is well-made. Tip of the hat to you, Sarissa!

 

I've gone through the trouble of adding glass to the windows, made from blister packs.

I’ve gone through the trouble of adding glass to the windows, made from blister packs.

I’ve used basecoat sprays, of course. I sprayed the roof separately with mournfang brown, the main structure was undercoated with a light coat of white.

 

Several tufts of MiniNatur flowers were added to the porches to liven the building up.

Several tufts of MiniNatur flowers were added to the porches to liven the building up.

The roof was fairly hard to get right; I used successive drybrushes of mephiston red, squig orange and dwarf flesh to end up at this point. It might still be a bit too dark, but I’m satisfied with the way it looks.

 

Quite cozy looking, innit?

Quite cozy looking, innit?

Stock mdf buildings can often be a bit bare-looking, which is why I added some tufts and, most noticeably, some poison ivy to the one blind wall.

Overall I’m very happy with how it came out. I’ll be sure to take some pictures of my French with this as a backdrop soon!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

