Second Blog Anniversary part two: Late Roman group shot!

Disaster! The battle of Chalôns refight has been changed into a Sassanid versus Eastern Romans refight! No mushy Hunnic horse lovers to fight through, but tough-as-nails cataphracts…

Still, it’ll be a nice refight. I don’t have too many models, but I thought I’d show the small contingent I’ll be adding to my clubmates’ Romans next Saturday.

The full spread of my small Late Roman army.

The full spread of my small Late Roman army. Click the picture to enlarge it.

As you’ll notice I’ve repainted the hats on some of the lighter troops – I mistakenly assumed these were flat helmets instead of felt hats. Thanks to those who were both knowledgeable and bold enough to point this out to me!

 

Lovely models by Gripping Beast.

Lovely models by Gripping Beast.

The latest unit off the workbench are these cataphracts. I finally managed to find a unit to try out the AP plate mail metal spray onto, and it did cut some corners. The lining on the horse armour might be a bit over the top, but I really wanted the unit to draw some attention – which they’ll undoubtedly do in our wargames as well! I might add socks to the horses’ feet, but otherwise I’m satisfied with them for now.

That’s that then, two years on the blog! I’ll be sure to keep the thing going forwards in its third year as well. First up are the final Landwehr, and perhaps some Vikings as well. Exciting times!

 

Leave a Reply

