Finally, Some More Vikings!

It turns out I had a blister of Artizan Design Vikings lying around from the Marie-Louises De Flandre convention last year, so I decided to open the pack up and paint them as a break from my current projects.

 

Models by Artizan Design.

Models by Artizan Design.

The models needed a lot of cleaning up, unfortunately, and it’s something I noticed on their Arab sculpts as well. Nothing my x-acto blade couldn’t handle, though.

 

Stripy pants are a great way to make a model look more interesting.

Stripy pants are a great way to make a model look more interesting.

Painting was pretty much the usual, although I did use VGC silver instead of Citadel runefang steel. I still don’t like the Vallejo metallics too much, so I’ve mixed the two brands into one pot – let’s hope I don’t get crucified by purists!

So that’s more vikings done – I really should do a head count of the entire army, maybe get another wide shot of the entire thing. Maybe soon? They’re not really an army I’m able to focus on right now – and my Late Romans currently give me my Dark Age fix – but vikings are always a delight for me to paint. Bright colours, functional sculpts, luxurious beards… they have it all. So these are certainly not the last Northmen you’ll see from me. Up next: effeminate types from Blaland. Also known as Arabs.

Leave a Reply

