More Late Romans

I’ve been playing a lot of Total War: Attila since the game came out, and so in spite of numerous running projects and commissions I keep coming back to my Late Romans. There’s just something irresistible about the Dark Ages which, coming into historical wargaming, I never imagined I’d like as much as I do. Additionally, I’m very happy about the choice of a colour scheme which combines a very simple approach with some striking intricate shield designs. So here are more infantry for the force, then!

 

More infantry, this time uniquely by Gripping Beast.

More infantry, this time uniquely by Gripping Beast.

These were painted up in much the same way as the previous armoured infantry, which were the first unit I painted for the force. I haven’t changed much since, although I’ve varied the shield designs a bit more. More white areas with red symbols, mainly.

 

A couple of bracing models provide a bit of variety to the unit.

A couple of bracing models provide a bit of variety to the unit.

Another important difference is that I’ve based a few models separately onto 20x20mm bases, as I’ve heard rumours about the possibility of a Saga supplement for the Late Roman age. Which would be fantastic.

So that’s it then, all armoured infantry done. I’ve still got a unit without chainmail to be done, as well as more cavalry, but these will have to wait a bit – a certain special bicentenary is creeping up fast!

2 comments

  1. Phil Marshall

    What a fantastic blog. I wondered if you did regular commissions and if so what the details were.

Leave a Reply

