Camel Jockeys!

Yet more Arabs were completed recently. These form part of my friend Kurt’s growing army, which was aimed at Saga but has already been seeing action in games of Sword & Spear. That’s the beauty of historical wargaming: the words “I’ll get just enough for a skirmish game” have barely escaped your mouth and then you end up with a hundred or more models. It’s happened to everybody! Anyway, on to the models.

 

Models by Gripping Beast.

Models by Gripping Beast.

I must confess I really like painting camels. It’s probably to do with the simplicity of the painting process – they already look the part with a single basecoat, wash and highlight all over!

 

Some of the newer sculpts they've put out, and it shows.

Some of the newer sculpts they’ve put out, and it shows.

As with the other models I’ve done these up with just washes, although I have used a few more freehand motifs to spice the models up just a tad more. The sculpts themselves are very clean, so these were a joy to work on.

 

Note the big sapphire in his turban - can't beat blue-orange contrast!

Note the big sapphire in his turban – can’t beat blue-orange contrast!

This warlord on camel is fantastic as well. I’d be happy yelling at my troops from the comfort of a pillowy chair atop a smelly camel as well! The blue gemstone was painted in the age-old tradition of Eldar collectors and I think it came out rather well.

 

Heroic.

Heroic.

This marks the temporary end of all things camel-mounted in my painting queue. For the Arabs I’ve got some light javelin cavalry coming up as well as a few more foot soldiers – more on those next month.

Updates on the blog have been sparse these last weeks, but never fear! I’ve two more updates coming up for you this weekend, one more for the Crusades and one for Napoleonics. So check back soon!

 

Leave a Reply

