8e Régiment de Cuirassiers

As said in my previous post, these guys were worked on painstakingly – not the detail I lavished them with, but the fractured elbow made it so! I went to the Waterloo bicentenary reenactment, and it reminded me I really had to get going on some Cuirassiers. Here we are then!

Models by Perry Miniatures, mostly plastic with a metal command set.

Models by Perry Miniatures, mostly plastic with a metal command set.

I mixed a metal command set in with plastic troopers, and I did convert the standard bearer into a regular trooper by putting a sword in his open hand. Not a perfectly executed conversion, but it gets the job done (he’s the one in the front left).

Plenty of dynamic posing to be done with these chaps.

Plenty of dynamic posing to be done with these chaps.

For the horses I used a range of coloured sprays from GW and Army Painter, whereas I used a blue undercoat on the troopers, with the exception of the musician who received a green one. There’s not much uniform colour on these guys, but by now I’m used to this kind of process so why change it.

 

Yellow turnbacks - not my favourite colour...

Yellow turnbacks – not my favourite colour…

Plenty of detailing after that, but nothing too special. I painted them up as the 8th regiment, which was really my only choice for the unit; the other which is mentioned in the Quatre Bras OOB, the 11th, allegedly fought without their cuirasses. If anyone can point me to suitable cuirassiers-sans-cuirasse models, please tell me in the comments!

These lads here proved murderous in our last battle with the Waterloo Warhammer Historical ruleset; I split them up into two separate smaller units and one rode down a Redcoat battalion in line while the other smashed a British Dragoon unit to pieces. C’est magnifique!

That’s it for now – more Napoleonics close around the bend. I’ve completed some Prussian fusiliers for my friend Henk, and I’ve finally based a fifth line regiment for my French. Stay tuned, citoyens!

3 comments

Leave a Reply

