Red Devil 17-pounder

Finally some serious anti-tank weaponry for my Paras! This 17-pdr arrived in my proverbial Christmas stocking last year and I’ve finally managed to get it assembled and painted up. My Fallschirmjaeger have been getting all the love recently as it seems all of my regular opponents have gone the Allied route, so this will likely mean a bit of dust collecting for this here gun. Let’s take a look at it, then!

A fantastic model by Warlord Games. An absolute chore to assemble though.

A fantastic model by Warlord Games. An absolute chore to assemble though.

 

I did some head swaps on the crew with some heads off a couple of Welbike riders, to make the latter unit a bit more diversified. Other than that it’s the standard model; not a lot you can do with it or to it, after all.

Looking up that barrel is not something my Panthers would like.

Looking up that barrel is not something my Panthers would like.

Painting was exactly identical to the rest of the army, although I did undercoat the models in GW zandri dust – before I used black, but seeing as how I do the denison smocks up from zandri dust it’s a bit of a time saver. All the other colours have better coverage over it as well.

 

A top-down view of the base. Hopefully it'll fit into some cover rich positions.

A top-down view of the base. Hopefully it’ll fit into some cover rich positions.

For the base I used an old CD-R with some black metal burned onto it; haven’t listened to that kind of music in a while so, sorry! I tried to use the open spaces on the base to cram a few different tufts in, and I do like how it ended up looking. Very Market Gardeny.

So that’s that then, another Christmas present finally squared away. I have more WW2 stuff in the pipeline soon, as my friend Flor gave me the belated birthday present of Black Tree Design Red Devils and FJs. Fantastic models, those. For now, though, it’s back to Napoleonics. Until next time!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

