Necromancer & Skeletons for Frostgrave

A couple of days ago my good chum Flor came round to my apartment for a trial game of Frostgrave, the new fantasy skirmish game from Osprey Publishing and North Star. Even with the two months since receiving the rules, I just couldn’t get motivated to paint my warband, and I had to make do with an undercoated set of models. Painful!

The ruleset itself, as we soon found out, is absolutely brilliant. It’s quick-paced, full of hilarious moments – Flor’s Dwarf Runelord ,which he used as a Wizard, used Leap to somersault out of a sticky situation – and the campaign system looks to be well-balanced with none of the flaws Mordheim used to have. We’ve already taken it upon ourselves to start a campaign proper after Flor gets back from a month-long trip to Australia (eternal jealousy is my part) so that means I have to get my warband sorted by then. And that’s just what I’ve begun doing!

Five skeletons, some really old plastics from GW.

Five skeletons, some really old plastics from GW.

During my recent moving house I stumbled upon some really old models from back when I first started wargaming. The owner of the toy store my mother used to work at had heard about the hobby I’d begun and dumped a box of really old GW models he’d never managed to sell and had been collecting dust in the attic. In among the stuff were these skeletons. They came in really small, bone-coloured plastic sprues dated 1991 – that means they’re as old as my girlfriend is. Shocking! I hastily built them up, found an old sprue of shields which I think came with metal Dwarf blisters, and there you go.

 

A really old but really good GW sculpt.

A really old but really good GW sculpt.

Also in that magical mystery box was Heinrich Kemmler the Lichemaster, an old sculpt from the time when GW made interesting character models instead of twenty flavours of ‘pointing at enemy, one foot on rock/severed head’. As the original staff was a bit too tacky for my tastes, I snipped off the top and put a brazier from a VC Corpse Cart kit in its place with a little greenstuff to tidy it up. It also gave me an excuse to do a little wet blending on the flames, which didn’t turn out perfect but I’m satisfied at least.

 

A different colour scheme when you look at it from the back - me gusta!

A different colour scheme when you look at it from the back – me gusta!

I’ve used some tundra tufts from Army Painter for the bases – it’s Frostgrave after all – and I have to say I really like the effect. Takes them to the next level.

So far I’m really enjoying Frostgrave – it’s become an excuse to start digging into the remnants of my many fantasy armies. Up next for the project is my apprentice (though he snuffed it rather unceremoniously in our trial game) and some armoured skeletons. Until next time!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

