Cursed Treasure

So, Crisis ’15 happened and all my money evaporated. I’ll be doing the usual wrap-up post sometime soon, but for now I’ll just focus the first painted models out of the new haul.

The models were labelled 'Ristul's Cursed Treasure'

The models were labelled ‘Ristul’s Cursed Treasure’

These are resin markers and they’re fantastically detailed sculpts – you can count each individual coin, and there are plenty of little details hidden among them. Unlike some resin casts these required no cleaning up at all, which was another bonus.

 

Big gems, big hammers... clearly not to be used in low fantasy settings!

Big gems, big hammers… clearly not to be used in low fantasy settings!

I mounted them on thin plasticard bases as I generally like to tie my markers in with my soldiers’ basing theme; it also makes them a bit more sturdy, I think.

 

Tufts are by Army Painter. Fantastic product, these.

Tufts are by Army Painter. Fantastic product, these.

I painted these over an AP platemail undercoat spray, which I hit with GW retributor armour and then gave a druchii violet wash. That gold paint is stupidly expensive but it does cover very well.

 

It's called cursed for a reason, I reckon?

It’s called cursed for a reason, I reckon?

Then the other colours were blocked in and washed, as usual. All those gems were layer highlighted in a simple fashion – I could have lavished hours upon them, the faceted ones in particular, but I really couldn’t be bothered too much with them. Some thin white highlights towards the top served to emphasise their shape, but other than that: job’s a good ‘un.

We’ve already used them in one scenario where a dastardly opponent used the Telekinesis spell to pull the markers towards him in his Wizard phase, and then picked them up in the Apprentice or Soldier phase. It’s a nifty combination which we’ll certainly be adjusting for!

Leave a Reply

