Warhound and Man-at-Arms for Frostgrave

Busy holidays mean a few updates get postponed, you know how it goes. Still, here’s a few Frostgrave bits and pieces that were finished some weeks back. More to come soon!

 

Official model by North Star.

Official model by North Star.

When I wrote up my starter warband roster for Frostgrave I always came up with 10 points to spend, and warhounds are the only option in such a case. What’s more, they’re fast and not much less fighty than your average thug or thief. These official models for Frostgrave are definitely on the expensive side, but in this case I couldn’t resist.

Quite a bit bigger than your average dog, this one has obviously been bred to survive on the streets of Felstad.

Quite a bit bigger than your average dog, this one has obviously been bred to survive on the streets of Felstad.

I painted the model more or less identically to the ‘official’ paintjob; being a cat person, I have but the vaguest idea of how a dog’s supposed to look. All in all I’m rather satisfied with how he came out, and he’s already gobbled up some thugs in my most recent games. Good boy!

An old plastic Empire Swordsman.

An old plastic Empire Swordsman.

Then there’s this chap – I found him back in my rearmost bits boxes. I’d provided him with a paintjob that had over the years become somewhat dated, to put it very mildly, and I’ve updated him with new lick of paint. It’s become a fairly thick layer with all the different coats I’ve applied to him, but I like how he came out.

Classic GW plastics: just the right amount of detail for rank and file.

Classic GW plastics: just the right amount of detail for rank and file.

I’ve added a few things of my own, such as to provide a bit of woodgrain effect to the otherwise completely flat back of the shield. It’s a simple but effective model and generic enough to go with plenty of different warband styles I have planned out.

That’s it for now. I probably won’t be covering Frostgrave this year anymore, but it’s one of the games I foresee to be playing a lot in 2016, so stay tuned!

One comment

Leave a Reply

